Ballad of the Slinger –

“There was no ‘I’ in team, but there was meat in team. And we were all dead meat.”
Jennifer Lane,
Blocked
 
“and after much thought he said to me…I know your game…you don’t have any game and that’s your game…”  –  da man wit dreads
  
 
You hit me hard and I took my licks
You gave me hard and expected bricks
You studied me and gave me ninety-nine
your thinking that I’d lose my mind
Telling me I put you up the ladder
with big men you’re countin’ cheddar
You played the game with our soul
thought my women would bring me low
But I saw what you’re gonna do
I was ahead of your game yeah ahead of you
You look and fretted while the money flowed
at the very end it wasn’t you I owed
With halting eyes you knew it was done
playing the game without game you knew I won
*
First published in Opinions Of Eye.com
Published by

Roostah

Words. Deep thoughts. Eccentric. Madness. Lover. Dark. Music. Melancholic. Beaches. Addict. Primal. Curious. Dichotomy. Gemini. "I am a series of small victories and large defeats, and I am as amazed as any other that I have gotten from there to here." - Charles Bukowski "I think and think and 99 times I'm wrong. But on the 100th time, I'm right." - Einstein

Leave a Reply

