The Flavor of Full – Too much is not enough

“We have a good life when we manage to live with both satisfied and unsatisfied needs, when we are not obsessed by what is beyond our reach.”– Kjell Magne Bondevik

mexicansonbicycles

It’s not the experience of pain that brings hopelessness, it’s the inability of pleasure to bring satisfaction. What do I do when what is supposed to make me happy no longer does? How will I find the passion to live? What purpose will I serve? My desire for pleasure is like a fire. It’s never full, I keep feeding it and when that’s used up, it wants more. No matter how much I give it, it is never satisfied. Soon the glowing embers of want crave more fuel. It’s then that I must reset of my pleasure threshold. Food never tastes so good as when I eat after going hungry for awhile. There is a proverb that states, “A full soul hates honey, but to the hungry, even a bitter thing is sweet”. If I always do only what feels good, I soon burn out trying to stoke the boundless appetites of my pleasure fire. When my appetites are denied, I find that when I “eat” again it’s all the more satisfying because I’ve reset my pleasure threshold by abstinence. 

Also published in Broowaha

09032011

Published by

Roostah

Words. Deep thoughts. Eccentric. Madness. Lover. Dark. Music. Melancholic. Beaches. Addict. Primal. Curious. Dichotomy. Gemini. "I am a series of small victories and large defeats, and I am as amazed as any other that I have gotten from there to here." - Charles Bukowski "I think and think and 99 times I'm wrong. But on the 100th time, I'm right." - Einstein

2 thoughts on “The Flavor of Full – Too much is not enough”

Leave a Reply

