Hear to Listen

“It’s like Sheriff Daniels sneezed, and they all caught the misinformation flu.” – Joe Schreiber, The Unholy Cause

 
 gstatic

 I will misunderstand the first story I hear. Things start to come into focus only after those initial reports. Observation of the facts is required as a rule of engagement for addressing my information and that requires careful listening, recognizing that I prejudice those things with my experiences of the past. My brain is quick to fill in the missing pieces of information, I compare it to my vision,  I’m quick to recognize a word with missing letters. This phenomenon is discussed in a Cambridge University study on cognition, I fill in the blanks and arrange the information according to my experience. To understand a story correctly requires time and listening for the missing letters.” When I feel inclined to jump to conclusions based on the first story, I’ll wait and look before I leap.

Published by

Roostah

Words. Deep thoughts. Eccentric. Madness. Lover. Dark. Music. Melancholic. Beaches. Addict. Primal. Curious. Dichotomy. Gemini. "I am a series of small victories and large defeats, and I am as amazed as any other that I have gotten from there to here." - Charles Bukowski "I think and think and 99 times I'm wrong. But on the 100th time, I'm right." - Einstein

Leave a Reply

