I Thought, I Became

“as a man thinks in his heart, so is he” – Proverbs 23:7
“I think and think and think, I‘ve thought myself out of happiness one million times, but never once into it.” Jonathan Safran Foer 
 
google

I’ve heard the negative, dark words spoken in blind anger
from family, lovers, friends, and enemies.
Now, I can’t get them out of my mind.
They linger like stingers, long after the offender is gone
I feel the effects, no matter how I try
to think that it’s not possible to actually be
what they said.
Self esteem takes the hit, crumpling under the blow.
I take hold of myself and stand again
It’s only what I believe that will affect me.
I will not listen to those heavy things,
weighing me down.
Casting off the weight, throwing it behind me
I can stand, I can be whole
full and strong, standing again
in the face of life’s headwind

I am not what they say, I am what I believe.


110411

Published by

Roostah

Words. Deep thoughts. Eccentric. Madness. Lover. Dark. Music. Melancholic. Beaches. Addict. Primal. Curious. Dichotomy. Gemini. "I am a series of small victories and large defeats, and I am as amazed as any other that I have gotten from there to here." - Charles Bukowski "I think and think and 99 times I'm wrong. But on the 100th time, I'm right." - Einstein

Leave a Reply

