The Uncool One – Struggling with an addict

You know me, I’m the “uncool” one, the “buzz kill” because I tell you to stop drinking and drugging. I tell you I can’t go out because I have to work the next day. I’m such a “drag” because I’m taking care of responsibilities and can’t follow you into the “party life”. Your so tired of me “putting on the brakes” in your life of craziness. But, who do you call on when the shit hits the fan? Who has to put up the bond for you when your in jail? Who do you cry to when you’ve been up for 3 days (or more), your head cant take it, and your coming apart at the seams. Who do you call when the police pull you over? Who do you call for commissary or for a visit when your lonely cause your down for a nickel and everyone else has forgotten about you? Who do you borrow money from to eat, or get gas, or buy tampons, or get cigarettes (the ones that burned my couch, my floor, my vanity, my bed, my car, my skin?)? I ask you to come to meetings with me (church, counseling, NA, AA, etc.), and you laugh, you don’t have time for that “boring shit”. I want to do something besides drink and get high and fight, but your “bored” and want to “have fun” before you die. It’s the “uncool” one in your life that you lean on when the police slap on the cuffs, so be nice to us….signed, the “uncool one”

120810
Published by

Roostah

Words. Deep thoughts. Eccentric. Madness. Lover. Dark. Music. Melancholic. Beaches. Addict. Primal. Curious. Dichotomy. Gemini. "I am a series of small victories and large defeats, and I am as amazed as any other that I have gotten from there to here." - Charles Bukowski "I think and think and 99 times I'm wrong. But on the 100th time, I'm right." - Einstein

Leave a Reply

