Wisdom’s Seven Pillars – Pillar #7 A Higher Source

“Wisdom has built her house, she has carved out her seven pillars:” Proverbs 9:1. The aim of this series is to present a non-cliche, non-religious point of view of wisdom. I do subscribe to some religious interpretations of the subjects addressed, but wish to here, only point out the common understanding of the principles.”

Pillar #7 A Higher Source

On the mountains of truth you can never climb in vain: either you will reach a point higher up today, or you will be training your powers so that you will be able to climb higher tomorrow.”

Each of us is born with the potential for the unfolding of our true self. When you deviate from the truth, you are interfering with the intention of something greater than you are – call it nature or a higher power. As a result, you develop discomfort.”
– Unknown

Abstaining from religious cliche’s and forms makes describing this last pillar difficult. The idea is that wisdom must have a source, greater than itself to appeal to. Some call it a “higher power”, a philosophy, a teacher, a leader, or any number of nomenclatures, all referring to the idea that someone or something has the power to inspire me beyond egocentricity. Isolation cannot be tolerated, though it is useful for growth, wisdom must be exercised in real life scenarios. I can be wise on my own, but let an argument start between my brother and I, and watch as the heat of emotion finds the weaknesses of my solitude. The two must work together, wisdom hammered out on my own, but submitted to another higher source, tested outside of my safe zone. A higher source exists, it behooves you to find it, appeal to it, and listen to it.
Published by

Roostah

Words. Deep thoughts. Eccentric. Madness. Lover. Dark. Music. Melancholic. Beaches. Addict. Primal. Curious. Dichotomy. Gemini. "I am a series of small victories and large defeats, and I am as amazed as any other that I have gotten from there to here." - Charles Bukowski "I think and think and 99 times I'm wrong. But on the 100th time, I'm right." - Einstein

Leave a Reply

