Wisdom’s Seven Pillars – Pillar #6 Easily Entreated

“Wisdom has built her house, she has carved out her seven pillars:” Proverbs 9:1. The aim of this series is to present a non-cliche, non-religious point of view of wisdom. I do subscribe to some religious interpretations of the subjects addressed, but wish to here, only point out the common understanding of the principles.”
Pillar #6 Easily Entreated

In all debates, let Truth be thy aim, not Victory.”
‘Tis the glory of a man to vail to truth; as it is the mark of a good nature to be easily entreated.”


Wisdom is friendly to questions and petitions, entertaining them easily. Being available to answer questions and grant petitions, facilitates the growth of wisdom. I must be willing to accept that I may be wrong, in both my knowledge and/or the application of it. Entrenched ways or knowledge that refuse to entertain oppositions and petitions limits my understanding. Though the questions are tedious, though the petitions are continuous, I must apply myself to them, willingly and easily. Allowing questions to my beliefs, working my through my limited understanding, achieves the purest and simplest knowledge applicable to life’s challenges. Without being approachable and entertaining questions, wisdom will be corrupted by egocentric desires, my will overriding the greater good, and create a religion of Me.

Published by

Roostah

Words. Deep thoughts. Eccentric. Madness. Lover. Dark. Music. Melancholic. Beaches. Addict. Primal. Curious. Dichotomy. Gemini. "I am a series of small victories and large defeats, and I am as amazed as any other that I have gotten from there to here." - Charles Bukowski "I think and think and 99 times I'm wrong. But on the 100th time, I'm right." - Einstein

Leave a Reply

